The Vega & Middleton Novels

Welcome to the mystery-thriller series featuring TV news reporter Beatrice Middleton and photographer Lucy Vega along with their friends and families in Savannah and Los Angeles. These woman take on some of the toughest criminals and risk all.

The Mermaid Broker
Book 4
Coming APRIL 1 2021

Now Avavilable for Pre-order

Bea and Lucy navigate the dark net to find a young high school biology teacher before she falls victim to a disgraced ocean scientist’s sado-sexual mermaid fantasies which includes throwing her to the sharks, literally
Early Praise:

Based on the strength of The Mermaid Brokers, one hopes that there will be many more novels to come. The plot is creative and compelling, the antagonists are twisted and self-absorbed, and Bea and Lucy are engaging and smart. For authors, it is often hard enough to simply become a big fish in a small pond, selling a couple hundred books and having a modest but devoted following. The Mermaid Brokers has made it clear that Sue Hinkin has the chops to become as big a fish as she wants in whatever waters she likes.

--Colorado Book Review

The Burn Patient
Book 3

​Disabled and  disfigured as a result of his attempt to destroy Lucy Vega, Mercer is back and intent on revenge through Bea's beautiful and vulnerable daughter.





Having just lost her job, Los Angeles news reporter Bea Middleton returns to face family secrets and murder in the lowcountry of Savannah, Georgia.

Low Country Blood
Book 2

Deadly Focus--Book 1 

During the worst El Nino season in decades, Lucy’s beloved uncle, who raised her from childhood, is killed in a car wreck. When a Los Angeles County homicide detective appears at the scene, Lucy and Bea suspect other terrifying possibilities. The trail leads to a heart-of-darkness scenario in the heroin trafficking foothills of central Mexico.
Audio Book Available now narrated by Sandra Murphy


  • Facebook Classic
  • c-youtube
  • Pinterest Social Icon

© 2023 by Samanta Jonse. Proudly created with